We Need to Stop Dismissing Women As “Crazy”

Thought Catalog

I’ve learned a lot about what it takes to be a man from women. Gloria Steinem, influential feminist, critic and stepmother to Christian Bale once wrote that “the first problem for all of us, men and women, is not to learn, but to unlearn.” Being an adult has been, for me, a conscious process of unlearning and deprogramming myself from the morals and standards by which I was brought up and confront the internalized sexism and racism I was born into. We are born into this.

I remember the first time a friend pointed out that my “gentle ribbing” of Asian stereotypes was racist. I was a teenager, and the kind of racism I knew was Birth of a Nation or Crash. Racism was overt and shocking, like having a cannon fired at you or Hollywood celebrities of various ethnicities scream their prejudices at each other for two hours…

View original post 1,688 more words

Leave a Reply

